Lesson 12: PAMM System. History. Pros and Cons

Published 15.12.2014 at 08.37 PM.

When Forex was just starting to gain popularity in post-Soviet states, some retail traders offered money management services to potential investors. The scheme was rather simple. A trader finds an investor, overwhelms him with stories about limitless opportunities of Forex, and if the investor agrees to provide the funding, a trading account is opened in the name of the investor. While the investor remains the holder of the account, all deals are actually conducted by the trader. To some, this type of investment may seem quite transparent: a trader trades, an investor invests, and they share the profits generated by the trader. Unfortunately, the potential benefits of such joint profit making are offset by a number of bitter-reality issues: 

  • To start with, one investor meant one account back then, so a trader could not possibly manage many different accounts at once.
  • Such an investment was in fact a pig in a poke. You never knew if a trader was really professional or just pretending to be. You could easily lose your money by trusting it to a scammer with fake trading records.
  • Sometimes investors just failed to fulfill their obligations. After getting the returns, they never paid traders who managed their accounts what they had promised to.
  • Dishonest manipulations were all too common. A trader managing two accounts from two separate investors would open opposite positions simultaneously, thus blowing up one of these accounts. This would secure a 100% return for one of the investors, and the trader would receive part of this profit as a reward.  

 

As you can see, this retail capital management service was far from perfect, and over time it was replaced by the PAMM system as we know it today. The new system eliminated all of the issues listed above. It was a positive change both for investors and managing traders. The PAMM system features the following advantages:

 

  • Funds from an unlimited number of investors can be managed simultaneously on a single trading account.
  • Before committing to a particular project, an investor can analyze the yield curve and statistics from the entire period of a PAMM account’s existence.
  • Trading is conducted from a managing trader’s account. Commissions are paid automatically to the trader whenever a PAMM investor requests a rollover or full investment return.
  • You can also trade the yield curve of a PAMM account. To enhance investment profitability, seasoned market players often use system drawdowns to invest in PAMM accounts. This strategy requires an account opened 6 or more months ago. Applying the Martingale system is not allowed. 

How to choose a PAMM account?

Same as with trading, I would recommend choosing a PAMM account based on your psychological makeup and preferences. If you are more of a gambler ready to take risks, stick with aggressive accounts. Conversely, if even the tiniest losses may drive you into panic, you’d better invest in more conservative PAMM projects. We will look into this issue more deeply in another post, where I’ll provide you with some examples.

What returns can you expect from PAMM investments?

Dear friends, if you want to keep and multiply your savings, I’d recommend building a portfolio of PAMM accounts in a way that would ensure that your minimum annual return exceeds bank interest rates and covers currency conversion and money transfer costs.  

Did you like the post? Share it with your friends!

Heading:

Урок 12: ПАММ система: история, преимущества, недостатки

Опубликовано 15.12.2014 в 20:37.

На заре становления FOREX в постсоветском пространстве, трейдеры предоставляли свои услуги по управлению капиталом потенциальных инвесторов. Схема была проста. Трейдер находит инвестора, описывает ему преимущества заработка на FOREX и, если последний соглашается вложить деньги, то открывается счет на имя инвестора. Дальнейшее управление торговым счетом передается трейдеру. Казалось бы, все по-честному: один вкладывает, второй торгует, прибыль - пополам. Но, к сожалению, радужная перспектива совместного заработка натолкнулась на суровую действительность из целого ряда существенных недостатков:

  • один инвестор - один счет. Трейдер физически не мог управлять большим кол-вом счетов.
  • кот в мешке. Инвестор вкладывал, как правило, в хорошо разрекламированного трейдера, успешность которого была подтверждена "липовыми" отчетами.
  • невыполнение обязательств со стороны инвестора. Т.к. трейдер торговал на счете инвестора, то после прибыльного периода, инвестор мог не выплатить вознаграждение за управление капиталом.
  • переливы счетов. Разрекламированный трейдер мог взять в управление два счета у разных инвесторов и, открыв встречные позиции, слить один из счетов. Как вы поняли, прибыль на втором счете составила 100%, часть которой выплачивалась в качестве вознаграждения.

На смену индивидуальному управлению капиталом пришла ПАММ система, которая уже была лишена целого ряда недостатков. Позитивные изменения затронули как инвесторов, так и управляющих.

  • одновременное управление средствами неограниченного кол-ва инвесторов на одном торговом счете; 
  • возможность, перед вложением средств, проанализировать кривую доходности за все время существования ПАММ-счета;
  • торговля ведется на счете трейдера. Вознаграждение управляющего выплачивается автоматически при ролловере или полном возврате инвестиции.
  • возможность торговать кривую доходности ПАММ-счета. Старожилы, для повышения прибыли от вложений, рекомендуют инвестировать в ПАММ-счета на системных просадках. Для этого подойдут счета со сроком жизни от 6-ти месяцев и должны отсутствовать признаки Мартингейла. 

Как выбрать ПАММ-счет?

ПАММ-счет, как и трейдинг, я рекомендую выбирать по своему психотипу. Если вы азартный человек, то вам, соответственно, подойдут агрессивные счета. Если вы, при виде убытка по инвестиции в пару процентов, начинаете пить успокоительное, то лучше всего инвестировать в ПАММ-ы с консервативным ММ. Более детально мы рассмотрим данный вопрос в одной из заметок на конкретных примерах.

На какую годовую прибыль следует расcчитывать?

Друзья. Если хотите не только сберечь, а и приумножить ваши вложения, то я бы рекомендовал формировать портфель из ПАММ-счетов таким образом, чтоб минимальная годовая прибыль была выше банковского процента и перекрывала расходы на конвертацию и переводы средств. 

Полезная статья? Поделитесь с друзьями!