Lesson 17: How to draw trend lines correctly

Published 10.03.2015 at 06.35 PM.

It is no secret that trading practitioners, in addition to performing market analysis based on their own strategies, often look through analytical materials published by fellow traders. They do so not because they don’t feel confident about their own approaches but rather to ensure that the process of professional development never stops. Among hundreds of charts, one will always find a new idea that can be turned into a profitable trading system. Oh no, don’t worry, I’m not going to write here about holy grails.   This time, I’d like to talk about trend lines and ways to draw them correctly on a chart. You may ask, “Is there really a way to draw them incorrectly?” Believe it or not, some traders, even those who have spent years trading on Forex, still haven’t learned how to build correct trend lines, though they may believe they have mastered the art.

To begin with, let’s recall what a trend is. 

Trend is a tendency of prices to move in a particular direction over time.

In an uptrend, the price is moving upwards, with each consecutive high above the previous high and each consecutive low higher than the prior low.

In a downtrend, the price is moving downwards, with each consecutive low below the previous low and each consecutive high lower than the prior high. 

Therefore, trend lines are drawn according to price dips in an uptrend and to price peaks in a downtrend.

Below are the conditions that you should follow to build trend lines correctly in a downtrend.

  • There should be at least two local highs and two lows on the price chart.
  • The high at point 3 should be lower than the high at point 1. The low at point 4 should be lower than the low at point 2.
  • After the price breaks the trend line, we don’t take it away from the chart until a new local low is in place. Untilthen, abreakoutisconsideredtobevalid. After the price finds a new local low, the breakout is viewed as false.
  • After the price breaks the trend line and finds a lower low, the old trend line should be removed from the chart and replaced with a new line.

I’d like to illustrate the last condition with an example:

 

At first, we built a red trend line as it met the condition for a sequence of highs and lows. At point 5, the trend line was broken, but the price found a new local low. Therefore we had to remove the red trend line from the chart and draw a purple line instead. So the key points of local highs and lows were also changed. Then the purple line was replaced with a dark green trend line.

In these examples, most traders would not probably make any mistakes.

Trend lines are often drawn incorrectly when the price breaks out of a trend line by just a few pips. Some traders usually ignore such small breakouts and continue trading with old lines on a chart. As a result, they fail to determine actual rebound/breakout levels and lose their money.

I hope this post will help you avoid such “childish” mistakes when trading on Forex. 

Did you like the post? Share it with your friends!

Heading:

Урок 17: Трендовая - правильное построение

Опубликовано 10.03.2015 в 18:35.

Ни для кого не секрет, что в течении дня трейдеры, помимо анализа рыночной ситуации по собственным стратегиям, просматривают аналитику своих коллег. Делается это не из-за неуверенности в собственных подходах, а для общего развития. Тем более, что среди сотен чартов, всегда можно найти какую-нибудь новую идею, на основе которой можно построить профитную систему. Уже вижу, как вы с нетерпением приготовились узнать об очередном Граале.  Но речь сегодня пойдет не об этом. Я хочу обратить ваше внимание на заезженную тему, касающуюся правильных построений трендовых линий. Уже предвижу ваш вопрос: "А разве можно построить "трендовую" не правильно?" Представьте себе, некоторые трейдеры, даже со стажем торговли на Форекс в несколько лет, до сих пор так и не научились строить трендовые. Вернее, они их строят, но делают это совершенно не правильно.

Для начала, давайте вспомним, что же такое тренд?

Тренд - направленная тенденция изменения цены за определенный промежуток времени.

При восходящем тренде цена движется вверх и при этом каждый последующий максимум должен быть выше предыдущего максимума, а каждый последующий минимум - выше предыдущего минимума.

При нисходящем тренде цена движется вниз и при этом каждый последующий минимум должен быть выше предыдущего минимума, а каждый последующий максимум - ниже предыдущего максимума.

Следовательно, трендовая линия при восходящем тренде строится по минимумам цены, а при нисходящем - по максимумам.

Условия, которые необходимо соблюдать для построения правильных трендовых линий (нисходящий тренд):

  • на ценовом графике должно быть, как минимум два локальных максимума и два минимума;
  • максимум в т.3 должен быть ниже максимума в т.1. Минимум в т.4 должен быть ниже минимума в т.2;
  • при пробое трендовой не убираем ее с графика, пока не обновится локальный минимум. До обновления лоу пробой считается истинным, после обновления - ложным.
  • после пробоя трендовой и последующего перелоу, старая линия убирается с графика, а вместо нее строится новая.

Последний пункт предлагаю разобрать на примере:

 

Сначала мы построили красную трендовую, т.к. она удовлетворяла условиям чередования максимумов и минимумов. В т.5 трендовая была пробита, но цена снова обновила локальный лоу. Поэтому красную трендовую пришлось удалить с графика, а вместо нее мы нарисовали фиолетовую линию. Соответственно, ключевые точки локальных hi & low тоже пришлось изменить. Затем, ей на смену пришла трендовая темно-зеленого цвета.

В данных вариантах большинство трейдеров скорей всего не допустило б ошибок. Неправильные построения встречаются в случаях, когда пробой трендовой происходит всего лишь на несколько пунктов. Некоторые трейдеры подобные пробои игнорируют и продолжают торговать по старым вариантам. В результате чего, уровни отскока/пробоя определяются не верно и трейдеры несут несистемные убытки.

Надеюсь, данная заметка поможет избежать "детских" ошибок при торговле на Форекс.

Полезная статья? Поделитесь с друзьями!