Does it make sense to put stop loss when trading in Forex?

Published 15.05.2015 at 09.28 PM.

 “Observing that he had not put in a stop-loss order I spoke to him about it and he told me that the break hadn't fairly begun and he wasn't going to be shaken out by any one-point reaction. This was in August. Before the middle of September he borrowed ten dollars from me for a baby carriage -- his fourth.”

Edwin LefevreReminiscences of a Stock Operator

Thank you for taking your time to read my post. Today, let’s consider an important and practical issue on stop orders. What is a stop order? What is special about them? Why do traders need stop orders?  

Stop Loss is an order placed by a trader on a trading platform to sell a security when it reaches a certain price. A stop-loss order is designed to limit an investor’s loss on a position in a security. It is also known as a “stop order” or “stop-market order.” 

You might doubt that a stop order is something worthy of attention. It could bring losses. Eventually, a price will retrace sooner or later. To begin with, a price does not always retrace. The second argument for a stop order, a price might retrace after a margin call was triggered in your account. An investor receives a margin call from a broker if one or more of the securities he had bought with borrowed money decreases in value below a certain point. The trader must either deposit more money in the account or sell off some of his assets.

Here are two charts of a yield curve. A trader uses stop orders on the first chart and does not on the second chart. Let’s discuss both yield charts in more detail.

1. This account has twice got into a system drawdown. The drawdown was deep because a trader used a higher risk of 10% per trade to limit a loss. However, even with such parameters the account was not lost completely, but renewed a yield high.  

2. It is clearly seen on the chart that a trader makes several-pip trades and manages losses on his own. To get out of a drawdown promptly, a trader applied a martingale strategy. On September 27, the trader was lucky as the market reversed as expected. However, the second time the good fortune was not on his side. A margin call was activated and a deposit was drained. 

Which way would you choose?

Like most novice traders, I used to follow the second way for a long time. I made dozens of intraday pips trades. I used an average strategy against a trend. I used to trade without any restrictions on losses. No wonder this mode of trading depleted my deposit and exhausted me mentally. All of a sudden I realized that my trading strategy needs a radical revision. A few years ago, I started to think seriously about using stop orders as an efficient tool of money management.

What is the right way to place a stop order? There is no clear-cut answer to this question. Parameters for placing stop orders are individual for every trading strategy. The most suitable values are determined on the basis of backtesting.  

Let’s look at the trading system in which a market entry is a retracement from the upper and lower edge of the channel. Such trading systems are practical because to put a stop order we should move away by a particular number of pips from a channel boundary. This number of pips depends on the time frame. For example, stop loss has to be placed at least 20 pips away for a 5-minute time frame and at least 50 pips away for a 1-hour time frame.

Here is another example.

The EUR/USD pair has formed a classical upward channel in a 1-hour time frame. There were four opportunities to enter the market when the pair retraced from the channel boundaries. Three trades would have closed at a profit, one trade would have closed in the red. Let’s consider the scenario in case we wouldn’t have used stop orders. The loss of the fourth trade would have erased all profits gained from the previous three winning trades. If the downward trend persists, the deposit will incur heavy losses.        

Besides, you should be aware that if you place a stop loss farther from the current price, you have to enter the market with a smaller trade. The article Money management and risk per trade will provide guidelines for calculations of a trade volume.

I believe the above-mentioned examples will enable you to make the right choice of money management methods. Learn from mistakes of other traders. Don’t learn the hard way! {#writer}

Did you like the post? Share it with your friends!

Стоит ли выставлять стоп лосс при торговле на Форекс?

Опубликовано 15.05.2015 в 21:28.

Заметив, что он не выставляет стоп-приказ, я поговорил с ним и услышал в ответ, что настоящий откат еще не сейчас и что он не хочет терять игру из-за отката на один пункт. Это было в августе. Еще не наступила середина сентября, а он уже занимал у меня десять долларов - в четвертый раз.

Э. Лефевр : Воспоминания биржевого спекулянта

Доброго здоровячка и большое спасибо, что заглянули ко мне на огонек. Сегодня мы затронем довольно интересную тему: "Что такое стопы, с чем их едят и нужны ли они вообще в трейдинге?" Для начала, разберемся что же это такое?

Stop loss - биржевая заявка, выставленная в торговом терминале трейдером,  с целью ограничить свои убытки при достижении ценой заранее определённого уровня."

Вы скажете: "Да на кой они мне сдались Ваши стоп лоссы, от них одни убытки! Цена все равно вернется!" Ну, во-первых, цена не всегда возвращается, а, во-вторых, цена может вернуться только после того, как на счете сработает margin call. Хех, еще одно заумное словосочетание, которое придумали буржуины, чтоб отобрать наш депозит.

В качестве примера приведены 2 графика доходности. На первом - трейдер использует стопы, на втором - нет. Разберем более детально нижеприведенные графики доходности.

1. Счет 2 раза попадал в системную просадку. Просадка глубокая из-за того, что в качестве ограничения убытка использовался завышенный риск на сделку в 10%. Но даже с такими параметрами счет не слился, а обновил хай доходности.

2. На графике хорошо видно, что трейдер берет пипсовочные сделки и пересиживает убытки. Для более быстрого выхода из просадки использовался мартингейл. В первый раз 27 сентября трейдеру повезло и рынок развернулся, второй раз фортуна не была столь благосклонна, позвонила Дяде Коле и тот, а-ля коллектор, приехал лично за депозитом. 

Какой путь выберете Вы?

Чего греха таить? Я, как и многие новички, продолжительное время торговал по второму пути. Это и десятки пипсовочных сделок в течении дня, и усреднение против тренда, и пересиживание с полным отсутствие ограничения убытков. Подобный вид торговли изматывает не только материально, но и наносит моральный вред. И в один прекрасный солнечный день ты просыпаешься с мыслью, что пора в корне менять подход к торговле на Форекс. Поэтому я несколько лет назад серьезно задумался над использованием стопов, как одним из инструментов управления капиталом.

Как же правильно выставить стоп? Нет однозначного ответа на этот вопрос. Параметры для уровней, на которых вы будете размещать стопы, индивидуальны для каждой торговой системы. Поиск оптимальных значений производится на исторических данных.

Разберем к примеру ТС, в которой для входа в рынок служит отбой от верхней или нижней границы канала. Такие ТС хороши тем, что для выставления стопа, нам надо отступить фиксированное кол-во пунктов от границы канала, величина которых зависит от рабочего таймфрейма. Например, для ТФ М5 стоп следует располагать не далее 20 пунктов, а для Н1 - до 50пп.

Обратите внимание на следующий пример.

По паре EURUSD на ТФ Н1 мы видим классический восходящий канал. Можно было тетыре раза войти в рынок на отбое от границ канала, 3 сделки закрылись бы с профитом, а одна - с убытком. Давайте рассмотрим вариант, если б мы не использовали стопы? Текущий убыток по четвертой сделке съел бы всю прибыль, которая ранее была заработана на предыдущих трех профитных ордерах, и, если нисходящий тренд продолжится, то рынок начнет залазить уже в наш собственный карман.

Так же следует принять во внимание, что чем дальше от текущей цены вы выставляете стоп, тем меньшим объемом надо входить в сделку. О том, как правильно рассчитывается объем, хорошо описано с статье Управление капиталом - риск на сделку.

Полагаю, что вышеописанные примеры помогут сделать правильный выбор в методах управления капиталом. Учитесь на чужих ошибках, не стоит набивать собственные шишки. {#writer}

Полезная статья? Поделитесь с друзьями!

Рубрика: